Whatsapp Chat

Canada's new NOC 2021 issued and in effect for fall 2022

12 Aug 2022 Author :

Canada continues to be one of the most beloved destinations for international students and workers due to high-quality education, provisions for their stay, and a great standard of living. The Canadian economy is helped a lot by the international immigrants. COVID-19 pandemic had temporarily closed doors for the international students and other immigrants. Now, the economy is being reopened worldwide.

Canada's Immigration system is being renovated and immigrants' occupations are being classified under NOC- National Occupational Classification. NOC is simply defined as the taxonomy of available occupations in the country's labor market.

NOC list will be updated every ten years, the previous list was updated in 2011. Here's what you need to know about NOC 2011:

IRCC (Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada) and ESDC (Employment and Social Development Canada) evaluate the applications for immigration and Labour Market Impact Assessment (LMIA) based on NOC categories.

IRCC is the Canadian government's department responsible for matters dealing with immigration to Canada.

ESDC is the department of the country's government that deals with social programs and the federal-level labor market.

LMIA is the document an employer must get before taking someone in. Positive LMIA reflects the need to hire an international worker. In simple words, LMIA is the labor market test carried out by the Canadian government. It is imperative under the Temporary Foreign Worker Program (TFWP).

Different categories are (in 2016):

NOC 0: Managerial level jobs.

NOC A: Professional jobs, university degree needed.

NOC B: Skilled trade jobs, a college diploma, or training as an apprentice is required.

NOC C &D: Jobs in trades, sales. Little to no skills are required for this.

Here are the important changes mentioned in NOC 2021:

NOC Skill level swapped with TEER system

IRCC said that the new NOC is going to have a new TEER system altogether to segregate the applicant's occupations. TEER is the acronym for Training, Education, Experience, and Responsibilities.

Authorities came up with this new system because they want to focus on applicants with good experience and education to work for a specific job in the country. This will also categorize professionals based on their skills as opposed to being concerned with occupation alone.

Also, statistics reported that the previous NOC categories, which were presented in 2016, couldn’t differentiate properly between low and high-skilled professionals.




Managerial related occupations


A few years of experience in some occupation from TEER 2, with a university degree (UG, PG, doctoral)


Supervisory or important safety responsibilities related occupations


Several years of experience in a particular occupation from TEER 3


Completion of post-secondary education from a community college, institute of technology, or CEGEP


Completion of apprenticeship


Few years of experience in a job from TEER 4


Secondary school education, 6 months of training in a particular job which has demand in Canada


Completion of post-secondary education from a community college, institute of technology, or CEGEP


Completion of apprenticeship (1-2 years)


Few years of experience in a job from TEER 5


Completion of secondary school education


Few weeks in job training/work experience along with secondary school education


Only work experience is counted. Formal education is not a requirement.

Data Science & Cyber Security - New Occupations Added

The number of occupations rose from 500 in 2016 to 516 in the new TEER system, as reported in 2021. New professions were established to expand disciplines like data science, cyber security, and others.

Newly added professions are:

● New unit groups – Data Science and Cybersecurity

● Groups of their own – Financial advisors and Police investigators

● 3 different unit groups – Software developers and programmers, Information technology sector, and Health agriculture sector

● Renewal within job sectors – Military occupations and Postal service

What does this mean to the immigrants?

It is pivotal for the immigrants to be familiar with these changes. Immigration and foreign worker applicants must make sure their NOC corresponds with the newly released eligibility criteria. As of now, applicants will need to wait a while for IRCC and ESDC to give out more information. This is especially true for immigrant applicants with a relevant educational background and professional work experience.

People who are expecting to get Canadian PR under a specific economic Canadian immigration program might get affected by this new classification of skills. Immigration must confirm the applicant's NOC eligibility under the programs mentioned here.

When it comes to federal express entry programs, it is not clear which TEER division it will come under.

The latest news also revealed that the Canadian government has initiated measures to help the country's employers access temporary foreign workers due to labour shortage issues.

After the re-opening of the country's economy following the pandemic, there is a low unemployment rate and high job vacancies

Are you looking forward to migrating to Canada? Do you seek overseas education consultancy?

Contact our team at Scholab. We will provide you with the necessary details and hold your hands throughout the process.

Our team will dispense up-to-the-minute overseas education consultancy services in universities across countries like Ireland, Canada, New Zealand, Australia, and the United Kingdom.